Even in the early times of St. Francis de Sales (August 16, 1567 – December 28, 1622) a peaceful and stress-free mind was given highest importance. His apt quote reveals a wisdom which is even more relevant to us in today’s hectic times.

 

In our world today stress hovers around us menacingly playing havoc into our mind. But its not only the external conditions which lowers our immunity but also the internal conditions such as ego, jealousy, attachment and possessiveness. We cannot always control the external conditions but the internal conditions can be made free from agitation and stress. Its all very well to say we need to remove our anger, and anxiety and let go. But the slippery mind quickly over-powers our resolutions and regains control to become our master instead of our servant.

The answer lies in regular Meditation. No matter which type of meditation we need to pick up the ones which suit us best depending on our age and physical limitations. Meditation must also include Pranayama or slow deep breathing exercises under a trained teacher. Yoga is a complementary practice which prepares our body to sit in proper postures for enhancing the benefits of meditation.

However busy we may be but to enjoy this beautiful life joyously and with enthusiasm lets listen to the advice of St. Francis de Sales and meditate. Our emotional stability will improve, anxiety will decrease and health will improve, creativity and clarity will increase, problems become smaller and above all the mind will become peaceful. But of course the proof is in the pudding.

Its only with regular practice that we will start feeling a sense of well-being and reach the state where we cannot imagine life without meditation.  So come lets all take a little time out to meditate daily and enjoy the bliss!

NAMASTE

 

 

 

About dilipnaidu

An open mind! Love to share my thoughts and a keenness to learn. An engineer and a MBA I had a wonderful innings in the Army and later moved to consultancy and teaching. My current interests are reading, music, growing culinary herbs, playing golf and yoga. I am serious on "Living life less seriously". A warm welcome to you be well and be cheerful always.

77 responses »

  1. How rightly you have pointed out that not only the external conditions lowers our immunity but also the internal conditions such as ego, jealousy, attachment and possessiveness. Since not much can be done about external conditions, checking these internal conditions is the only option available to us. Thanks for explaining the benefits of meditation in a lucid manner.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. namitasunder says:

    true, meditation is therapeutic.It’s the time when I feel one with myself and one with the unknown , vast world beyond.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Have a Blessed Weekend Dilip… sending Blessings your way.. Hugs.. Sue

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature says:

    Yes, meditation is so important. When i can’t make myself sit, I do a mindful walking meditation. Thank you for stopping by my site and for commenting.
    Mary

    Like

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Hi Mary your blog is lovely place with all the nature-related pictures and writings. I am sure walking in your beautiful environs itself would be meditative. Thanks you for returning my call and have a nice week-end🙂
      Dilip

      Like

  5. So true, so true, and a great reminder. I am very hit or miss when it comes to mediation. So good for every body. I even have a pyramid timer which is lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. shellymona says:

    Absolutely…we shoud focus on this seriously because these internal conditions are more dangerous than the external ones…..informative post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Very well said it is the internal conditions which though hidden create psychosomatic issues for the victim. Medication only suppresses but meditation heals!

      Thank you and regards.

      Like

  7. Madhu says:

    Love that quote! I used to be passionate about my yoga, but the institute I practiced in moved father away and I have slowly stopped attending completely. And somehow I never seem to get down to doing it at home. I really need to get back to a calming routine. Thanks for the reminder Dilip.

    Liked by 1 person

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Yes Madhu I am with you on this. Despite being into yoga and mediation I too find being regular at-home is difficult. When we join classes we get the benefits of the group vibrations and that makes it more enjoyable.

      Yes Madhu my good wishes are with you for your yoga practice. And cheers to that🙂

      Like

  8. I cannot imagine a day without meditation or yoga–it would be the same as going without food or air.
    I love the quote. It shows a most sound way of thinking.
    Cheers, Dilip!

    Liked by 1 person

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Oh that’s very inspiring Shelley. Yes once we start feeling the sense of well being emerging after a yoga practice we can’t do without it.

      Here’s wishing you all the best in your meditative practices. Cheers🙂

      Like

  9. I used to do yoga in my 20s and now I don’t… what is up with that… true, I got busy,,, and your post gently reminds me of the benefits of getting back into a time just for me with relaxation. Your words touch me, my friend. Blessings to you❤

    Like

  10. sindhoooo says:

    If every child is taught meditation, violence can be eliminated within a generation as Dalai Lama has rightly said… Meditation is the priceless gift one can give to their self… Hope everyone realises it…
    Good post, Dilipji🙂 TC… Keep smiling and happy meditating🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. […] saw this quote on Dilip’s blog Breath of Joy.  It rings true to me.  The times when we feel the most busy are the times we probably most need […]

    Like

  12. To me, doing yoga is like getting a brain massage!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. aFrankAngle says:

    The St. Francis quote is so good because it is so counter to our thinking.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. jannatwrites says:

    I have problems with my mind always going. I’ve been looking at ways to slow down and just “be”. I plan on looking more into the practice of mediation. I do like the quote… how true it is that we would need more time when it’s busy!

    Like

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Hi Janna it is true minds do wander and get distracted. When this activity increases we surely need to look within and focus on our breath. With some practice the mind will then become calm and restful.
      Have a lovey day🙂

      Like

  15. Yoga is a saver for many problem.. Grt article

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Wonderful advice! Thank you so much for sharing this, I will try, just starting yoga class and truly loving it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Hi Indah good to know you have started yoga classes. I too love my yoga classes immensely. I have added my yoga centre website to my blog roll🙂
      Many good wishes to yoi🙂

      Like

      • I will check it Dilip! Thank you! I am just a beginner though, but beginning to enjoy the relaxing moment and the after yoga feelings…I should have done this long time ago!!

        Liked by 1 person

        • dilip says:

          My yoga teachers are very well trained in teaching yoga. That after class feeling is just super. We have a bit of music therapy too. I am sure you’ll soon be a good yoga exponent as your outdoors must have kept you fit and flexible.

          Bye and let’s enjoy our yoga.🙂

          Like

  17. Celeste says:

    Great post! Thank you. A daily meditation practice makes me feel more powerful and calm. I enjoy the bliss for sure, ciao

    Like

  18. Wonderful Advice dear Dilip.. today I sat near a Silver Birch tree .. for only 10 minutes, my back pressed against its bark.. breathing deeply, and came away instantly uplifted from my 10 mins of meditation ..
    I urge everyone to embrace inner peace..🙂 and if you can sit out in nature all the better..🙂

    I hope you have a peaceful week Dilip.. Blessings Sue

    Like

  19. RCG Editor says:

    I loved reading this post today. I would love it if you checked out and maybe followed my Christian blog. – rcghub.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Simona says:

    DOLCE WEEKEND🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Simona says:

    *hąρρ¥ ώ€€Ќ€ɲď* ḲЇϟ$ℰ$ ÅℕÐ ĦṲḠϟ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Aquileana says:

    Great post, dear Dilip. Francis de Sales´thoughts are accurate … and your insights are very wise…. All the best to you!. Enjoy your weekend ahead, Aquileana😀

    Liked by 1 person

  23. suhas says:

    Half an hour daily is recommended.If you are busy increase it.

    Easier said than done. I faltered on the regularity and am paying for it now.
    No medicine for 70 yrs; but made up everything now .

    BG says ,”U r ur own friend & u r ur own enemy”

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Heta Gala says:

    Yes, practicing Yoga is one of the good ways where a person will be at peace and would feel relaxed.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Bill says:

    I know this is good advice and I need to be more mindful about keeping it. The quote is insightful–when we’re busiest is when we most need to pause and settle our minds.

    Liked by 1 person

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Hi Bill welcome. What you say is true our world seems to be spinning around faster and faster and we must find ways to keep ourselves in balance One way is meditation.

      Like

  26. Meditation do help us enormously. Couldn’t agree more with your words Dilip…🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Yes Maniparna you are fortunate to live in a place which is charged with the spiritual vibrations of great saints such as Ramkrishna Paramhans, Vivekananda and Rabindranath Tagore.
      Always a joy hearing from you. Best regards🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  27. Large and relevant reflection ! It is indeed important to take time to consider , giving way to calm, breathe without that tour towards you. For my part, I cultivate the relationship to the “divine”

    Liked by 1 person

  28. renu says:

    I find it very difficult to do pranayam:(

    Like

    • dilipnaidu says:

      A good teacher is a must for pranayama and we have many options in India. Very soon we will not need guidance once we get the do’s and don’t right.🙂
      Best of luck.

      Like

  29. Binky says:

    This advice comes at an important time for me. I really need to try meditation.

    Like

  30. Indeed it is so and I wish we were all taught this from a very early age. People learn how to count money before they even know how to …breath. Thank you, my dear Dilip for this beautiful post.

    Like

  31. Rajagopal says:

    One cannot agree more with Francis de Sales and you, dilip. We just have to visualise a world where everyone mediated for at least thirty minutes a day; it will be, without doubt, a world without strife, where people are at peace. The latest grouse of some sections is that they are unhappy with the invocation of ‘Om’ in yoga, because of its religious overhang, not realising that it is actually a combination of the three primal sounds A, U and M. The advice to these outfits, including uninformed and dogmatic padres in the US, is to practise yoga without Om, so they get to enjoy its benefits… We have the right tools, with, regrettably, too many doubting Thomases and resisting nay sayers…hence the efforts must continue…

    Like

    • dilip says:

      Hi Raj I am sure you must be well aware of the various wellness processes and their finer points too. It’s only with regular practice can we see significant improvement. Chanting of Om helps in centering us before the start of meditation or pranayama. Yes I agree it is not a must for all.

      I must admit I too had a break in my meditative practices thinking I have too busy🙂 but am quite regular since 6 months now. I am now managing my time a bit more smartly🙂

      Thanks Raj I enjoy reading your thoughtful responses. Kindest regards.

      Dilip

      Like

Leave a Reply

