A beautiful way to develop confidence is to practice humility. No person can always be right. To try and justify our actions knowing well we erred will make us feel guilty and uneasy. So why not admit the mistake and enjoy the feeling of mental relief? Owning responsibility will raise our esteem in the eyes of others. It also opens our minds to learning as people around us feel free to offer their suggestions and new and better solutions will emerge.

Confidance

So lets we as teachers, leaders, friends and parents have no pretenses of being infallible by remembering Erza T. Benson’s words ~“Pride is concerned with who is right and Humility is concerned with what is right”!

Have a lovely weekend dear friends and lets all keep smiling🙂

 

About dilipnaidu

An open mind! Love to share my thoughts and a keenness to learn. An engineer and a MBA I had a wonderful innings in the Army and later moved to consultancy and teaching. My current interests are reading, music, growing culinary herbs, playing golf and yoga. I am serious on "Living life less seriously". A warm welcome to you be well and be cheerful always.

72 responses »

  1. Paula says:

    That’s a good quote! I have just learned that I am confident😉😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. quirkyshine says:

    Very inspiring… lots of insights you write here…🙂 thank you for sharing…🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Roshni says:

    A wonderful quote for all of us to follow!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sindhoooo says:

    Awesome post, Dilipji! Admitting the mistakes gracefully is the greatest achievement… It is one of the beautiful ways to simplify our lives…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I agree completely. Sort of be responsible on your acts and what you had said..

    Liked by 1 person

  6. negativethinkerr says:

    no doubt absolutely true,,good 1 !!

    Like

  7. ShethP says:

    Ever since I came across this quote two years ago, I’ve made it a point to keep it in mind.🙂 This was another reminder to do just that. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Swetank says:

    Dilip, and again thank you for this too!! Truly appreciate your share.

    Swetank,
    Be Bettr, Stay Bettr!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Madhu says:

    A wise message that we would all do well to rememebr. Thank you dear Dilip. Have a great week ahead!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I think the knee jerk reaction will tend to be justification of self and finding an excuse for it. Maybe wisdom lies in not giving in to that knee jerk moment. That’s where your earlier post -Power of patience takes shape.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. LadyPinkRose says:

    Very wise words, Dilip. Ones that I intionally walk out each day. There is one in my life who has not seen this Truth, to which I pray that this Truth is seen. Owning what one says and does makes for a Peaceful Mind. I also have two definitions for pride: one, pride = arrogance of spirit; two, pride = embracing with dignity what one creates in Love, Joy, and Peace. As with all in Life, the very word pride is a dichotomy in nature. I’ve actually been thinking about that word lately … (smile). Great post, my friend. Love, Amy❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • dilip says:

      Your words too Amy are so true. There are times when the other fails to understand what is good and refuses to pay heed to sane advice in such occasions we need to pray with faith that wisdom may dawn. I love your meanings of pride – so beautiful.

      Thank you for your beautiful comments.

      Liked by 1 person

      • LadyPinkRose says:

        Dilip, I am contending with such a situation right now as you just stated. In the waiting for sanity to return, I myself walk through Purification Fires. I also am happy you like my definitions of pride. Much thought went into that word, spurred from a conversation I had with someone who corrected me when I used the word pride, saying “pride is not of God”. Immediately that did not set right with me, so I chewed on this. And as a result what I told you I concluded. Right now I am chewing on the word “should”, searching for another to replace it. Should does not “feel good” when I say it or write it, so I am going to come up with a word that has a much brighter or higher vibrational ring to it. I hope you followed that. (smile) LOL (((HUGS))) Amy❤

        Liked by 1 person

        • dilipnaidu says:

          Your thoughts and writings Amy are so meaningful. The quality of our life can be enhanced by practicing awareness as well as going through the process of Purification. For me purification would imply having good thoughts, a kind act without any expectation and of course patience.🙂

          Please do keep me in the loop when you do come up with the alternative word for ‘Should’.

          Kind greetings and hugs back to you🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • LadyPinkRose says:

          Dilip, even though sporatic, I am truly enjoying this conversation with you. What you have described about purification is actually the results of purification. The actual Purification process is difficult at most when you find yourself in circumstances that “test” your very soul. This is what I meant by walking through the “Fires of Purification”. I see it like this … any dross, or any inpurity that is ready to be released in order for Light to come into that place of residence, one walks through a “tough phase”, some so tough you honestly don’t know if you can do it. When it ceases, and it does, thought becomes higher, centeredness becomes more profound, connection with Source is one step easier, Flow is more abundant. From my own Life experience I have observed phases. There is the shadow phase in which I find myself walking through Fires of Purification (very tough circumstances), then comes the release of that phase which usually finds me resting a lot, after which follows deeply intense revelations with Source, then effortless Flow and Life plateaus on a new level, a higher one. There is a flux, just as in Yoga, and in breath, a no breath, an out breath. Anyone who is a Seeker, or one who is aware of these Cycles, understands that instead of fighting them, the goal is to let go and just allow all to unfold, knowing that there is rainbow ready to be known.
          I’ve had much time lately BEing ONE with Mother, with Self, walking through the Purification process as well, and much deep thought has been evident. I share some of those thoughts with you today. May your day be Blessed, special, and filled with Lightness and Laughter. Love, Amy❤

          Like

        • dilip says:

          Hi Amy I must confess I previous reply was quite light as it did not go into the deeper realms of testing the soul. Frankly I have not much experience in analysing the mind to its core and emerge with some wisdom. My mentors advise is to do everything that keeps the mind calm and peaceful. Never to speak and act in ways which create disharmony. Help the needy not monetarily but by service to make them self confident.

          But I am so grateful to you for sharing your rich experience of going through and learning from tough times rather than succumbing to the pressure.

          With kindest regards and may your day too be blessed, peaceful and in contentment. Take care and keep smiling.🙂
          Dilip

          Liked by 1 person

  12. Ankur Mithal says:

    Don’t know if you follow cricket but your piece reminded me of a comment I had read some time back in connection with aggression on the cricket field. The speaker was Matthew Hayden, a successful former Australian cricketer. According to him, aggression is not about making loud gestures and noise. He said, “if you want to know what aggression is, look into Rahul Dravid’s eyes”. Rahul Dravid, in case you don’t follow cricket, is a successful former Indian player, known for his calmness and unassuming and undemanding behaviour.

    Liked by 1 person

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Hi Ankur what Matthew Hayden said on Rahul Dravid’s calm composure and singular focus must’ve been more terrifying than any physical gesture or sound. Excellent illustration.

      Wonder whether we could include Dhoni in Rahul’s class of being cool yet fearful to the bowlers🙂

      Thanks a lot I enjoyed your comment. Cheer🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Great quote – it’s so true! We continue to grow and there is much to learn, when we look for it🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Banu H says:

    True. I think you need an open mind, a passion for learning and the spirit to be growing (at any age) to be able to own your mistakes, to accept comments/criticism and take it as part of your growth. I have been learning this the hard way. But I have found out for sure, that when you say, “I did not know that or I made a mistake, I am sorry”. It does help a lot – improve relationships, make people less wary of you and in general fosters good will. Unless there are people who have just made up their mind that the world is out to get them no matter what.

    Liked by 1 person

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Lovely thoughts on the post Banu. What you say drives home the point further. Yes we admit our mistake our mind eases up and move ahead freely with more clarity.

      Thanks aplenty and have a wonderful week🙂

      Like

  15. purehaiku says:

    very interesting and thought provoking post!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Simona says:

    HAPPY NEW WEEK🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Very True Dilip ..🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  18. And yes, nowadays so many are quick to point a finger. Fess up and move on.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Hello Dilip! This is a wonderful post. Perfect does not exist. Except in glorious nature.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. renu says:

    today I rarely find a person who is ready to accept his/her mistake:(

    Liked by 1 person

  21. lightwalker1 says:

    Always something to remember. Thank you for stopping by and liking my recent posts. In love and light Cheryle

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Binky says:

    That’s a good way to put it. We should always be open to others’ input since we all have a lot to learn.

    I hope you had a good Easter, Dilip.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. jannatwrites says:

    This is true. I have more respect from those who can say “oops” rather than insist they were right- or worse, push blame onto someone else.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Reblogged this on Dew Drops and commented:
    True that.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Simona says:

    HAPPY EASTER kiss🙂

    Like

  26. ssbonsor says:

    Thank you for the beautiful thoughts! Keep smiling.

    Liked by 1 person

  27. YES! Absolutely…wise words here… Thanks for sharing Dilip…🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  28. So very true, my dear friend. Thank you for this and the smile! 🙂

    Like

  29. Good one. Happy weekend to you as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Rajagopal says:

    Edifying post, Dilip… Greater confidence brings in greater humility, and vice versa. Brashness, used to describe confidence that is offensively flamboyant, is neither confidence nor flamboyance; it is just plain arrogance. The truly knowledgable mind is like the profusely foliaged tree, bending ever so humbly in the direction of sunlight, while still continuing to grow….best wishes… Raj.

    Like

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Hi Raj as I’ve said before you response enhances the value of the post much more. In fact what I wished to convey you have done so succinctly. The simile of the knowledgeable mind with the heavy foliage on the tree is perfect.
      With kindest regards and cheers🙂

      Like

  31. AdiC says:

    Makes you think! You too have a great weekend!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

