On 22 July around 9.30 pm around 9pm my friend Brig. Chowdhry (Chow) called me up to witness the glorious Brahma Kamal in full bloom. I immediately picked up my camera and started walking to his house making my way through the dark as the large trees blocked the moonlight. When I reached his garden lo-behold the sparkling snow white Bramha Kamals. Chow my gracious friend was kind enough to share the transcript of his email describing this divine event. Photos taken from my camera are added below.

brahm kamal july 2013 001

brahm kamal july 2013 004

brahm kamal july 2013 003

Email received from my friend Brig. Chowdhry (Chow)

“It was the 22nd of July and there was a big full moon on Guru Purnima. Junior had a sleepless night and hence so did we. But then the next day the Gods came calling. Once again like the last year I looked at this mystique looking plant which now stands over six feet tall and said to myself that something very special was going to happen that day . And happen it did. It was 7 pm and as I ventured out to see – there they were – three gorgeous looking buds just waiting to burst open. Next to them was another hesitant coy looking one – a little uncertain about itself. I decided that I would now look at them only at intervals of an hour.

 Armed with my camera at 8 pm when I went out into the garden again – there they were ready for the big bang-looking gorgeous and radiating tremendous light of their own. My next visit an hour later at 9 pm saw them in their full glory – totally awesome .It is then that I decided that the experience was just too good to let go unshared. Two immediate neighbors were ushered in post haste. A friend who was having dinner and another one planning to tuck in for the night – both ardent lovers of nature scampered in no time. And there we stood absolutely enthralled at the sight of the most beautiful flowers one has ever seen. Only Brahma himself could have crafted them.

 Sadly it was only a one night affair albeit an experience of a life time. And here I am tempted to repeat my last year’s experience of them”

                                        “My candle burns at both ends 

                                         It will not last the night

                                         But aah my friends and Oh my foes

                                         It gives a lovely light”

  PS

 The photos are not attached –may be I will send them later. But those lovely people who came and shared our joy will know that watching this Kamal unfold is like a spiritual journey not quite capable of being filmed.

Thank you for sharing Brig Chow!

About dilipnaidu

An open mind! Love to share my thoughts and a keenness to learn. An engineer and a MBA I had a wonderful innings in the Army and later moved to consultancy and teaching. My current interests are reading, music, growing culinary herbs, playing golf and yoga. I am serious on "Living life less seriously". A warm welcome to you be well and be cheerful always.

26 responses »

  1. Asma says:

    Subhan Allah .. Beauty in its most purest form🙂 Good Work with the camera!

    Like

  2. White Pearl says:

    wow this flower is so beautiful and fresh and the way you captured it made it more excellent and gorgeous ! Love these pictures🙂 xx

    Like

  3. There are few flowers that bloom at night I guess…but i have never heard of this beautiful flower and your story wow! I would love to experience too : D thank you Dilip

    Like

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Oh yes I do hope and wish you too experience this wonderful flower. I am quite sure these flowers are there in other places abut unless but go unnoticed.

      Good luck and best regards.🙂

      Like

  4. Binky says:

    So this flower blooms only once a year? And at night? It must have been quite something to see. And you got some nice pictures of it. The plant is six feet tall, so are the flowers big, too?

    Like

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Yes Binky raelly was a wonderful experience. The flowers are just about 6 inches wide – just perfect in size.

      Trust you doing well. and thanks for stopping by.🙂

      Like

  5. SUHAS says:

    Your blog has taken me down the memory lane. I donot remember the year, but we were new at S V when I got a call from Col Lele. He asked to come quickly with my camera.When I reached it was 11 pm & I saw beautiful Bramha KIamals at their door step.
    Another 2 days and I got a call from the neighbour to see the blooming BKs.
    Needless to say that I had nice coffee at both places.
    Yes , the candle burns at both ends, it may not last the whole night.But its memory does.

    Like

  6. Madhu says:

    We had this plant up in the plantations and I remember being wowed by it. We knew it as the star of Bethlehem. Had no idea this is the Brahma Kamal! Thank you for educating me🙂

    Like

  7. Wow, what’s the pretty flowers. love blooms. Nice captures.

    Like

  8. manju says:

    What lovely pics of some unique blooms! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  9. They truly are magical blooms. What a divine experience!🙂

    Like

  10. Amazing flowers and so beautiful. And to witness their opening! Truly marvelous. I need to learn more about these flowers🙂 thank you for a delightful share
    Blessed indeed
    Sue🙂

    Like

  11. Its beautiful indeed.

    Like

  12. slalvani167 says:

    Dilip, I can fathom Brig Chowhury’s joy as my Wife & I have witnessed this outstanding event from our potted plants in our sit-out on the 4th Floor. These unbelievably beautiful flowers also boast of an unusual refreshing perfume. Truly, nature’s beauty knows no bounds!!
    Cheers!
    Sunder

    Like

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Wow Sunder how wonderful that you both care and tend to this plant all the year round just to watch on the destined night its electrifying bloom as well as savor the intoxicating scent.

      You both indeed are blessed!

      Like

  13. seeker says:

    Definitely they are picture perfect. How come only one night?

    Like

    • dilipnaidu says:

      This beautiful flower is believed to bring in good luck and prosperity in the home where the flowers bloom.

      Its unique as it blooms for only one night in a year. It starts opening up by late evening and lasts till morning.

      Like

Leave a Reply

