Well folks I just got discharged from the hospital now fit an fine. It was a 10 day stay and the problem was vertigo and very low sodium levels. The doctors were excellent and their diagnosis was perfect and I was soon up and about. I had plenty of time to rest and reflect on issues concerning changes in my life-style. Yes I did come to the conclusion that I need to slow down and do the things which I always wanted to do but missed out.

The hospital itself was more like a health-resort a quaint World War II vintage construction but remarkably well maintained. The nursing sisters and medical assistants were always kind and caring. They were always cheerful and and kept the patients in good humor. True to the adage – “laughter is the best medicine”

I’d love a share a few more pictures from the hospital garden and of a most breathtaking view of the sunrise. In India Sun God is believed to be the King of all the planets and is responsible for controlling all their movements; he is the lord of excellence and wisdom. And many patients waited for the sunrise to offer their salutation and prayers – Soorya Namaskar! . A good reminder to those who patiently waited to view the sunrise and the day break reminding us that life goes on and we are all blessed.

sunrise -2 (final)

“Just living is not enough. One must have sunshine, freedom, and a little flower” ~ Hans Christian Andersen

kana 2 -

Mother Teresa

A bright young patient a teenager was so inspired that he sketched a beautiful portrait of Mother Teresa. (below) A popular quote by Mother “If you can’t feed a hundred people, then feed just one” ~ Mother Teresa

A word of advise is to check your sodium and potassium levels periodically. A balanced diet will make sure that all salts and minerals are maintained at the right levels.

A small prayer for my fellow patients some of who are suffering may they get well speedily. “If these flowers were wishes, then my wish for you is to get well soon”.

And finally “A good laugh and a long sleep are the best cures in the doctor’s book”~ Irish Proverb

About dilipnaidu

An open mind! Love to share my thoughts and a keenness to learn. An engineer and a MBA I had a wonderful innings in the Army and later moved to consultancy and teaching. My current interests are reading, music, growing culinary herbs, playing golf and yoga. I am serious on "Living life less seriously". A warm welcome to you be well and be cheerful always.

40 responses »

  1. So glad to hear that you are out of hospital and feeling much better. Thank you for calling in to my blog again๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. Sorry you have been in the hospital, my dear friend suffers from vertigo, may you be blessed with continued good health. Glad to have you back… Patty

    Like

  3. midnighthues says:

    Sorry to hear about your poor health Dilip, hope you are better and healthy now. Nice write up here!

    Like

  4. Madhu says:

    So glad you are out of hospital Dilip. Take care and stay well๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. renu says:

    Good to know you are fine.recently I have heard a lot about sodium defficiency.but how did you know.what were you feeling?

    Like

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Thanks for the good wishes Renu. I have always maintained fitness regimen but one day I felt a bit of sway in my gait and vertigo like effect. And the next day was really bad and so got admitted to the hospital. My blood checks revealed an abnormally low count.

      Within two days with increased intake of salt things came to normal yet preferred to stay on till the docs were fully satisfied. Thanks again๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  6. Binky says:

    I wondered why you hadn’t posted anything in a while, but never suspected you were ill. I’m glad to hear you’re better now. It sounds as if you were lucky enough to have a good hospital with good medical staff. Health is something most take for granted, until they have a problem. Without your health, little else matters. Most of us could do a better job taking care of ourselves.
    Take care, Dilip!

    Like

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Oh my dear friend. Yes we do need to pay utmost attention to our health. I am fortunate that our military hospitals take provide the best attention. Ya I am improving slowly but surely. And I wish I had the wombats to play around with – for speeding up the recovery.๐Ÿ™‚

      Thank you and cheers!

      Like

  7. Oh Dilip, thank goodness you are okay. You had to rest , take a break and re-evaluate your lifestyle like it or not. Life has a way of making it happen, when we least expect it. Take good care of yourself. Margie

    Like

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Dear Margie your concern means so much to me. Yes I will follow your advice – Everything happens for a purpose.and so have cancelled my teaching assignments for the next three months. Just freaking out and letting go๐Ÿ™‚ The recovery is progressing steadily.

      Like

  8. Banu H says:

    Uncle, it is good to know that you are feeling better. I guess slowing down can be harder as body ages quickly than mind. But doing things you always wanted to do seems like the best idea. Loved the pics and Quote. Take Care

    Like

  9. Javier Martinez says:

    It is a blessing to have you back. Please take care!

    Like

  10. suhas says:

    Let me compliment you for the most wonderful quotes.

    Like

  11. suhas says:

    Very sorry to hear about your sickness. I went through the vertigo effect quite some time back. One day when I woke up I saw the ceiling revolving at 200 rpm (my guess). So I turned on my side and saw the wall revolving. Col. Hegde was called; gave me some tablet; came again after 2 hrs and found me finer than expected. So I escaped an injection.
    I wonโ€™t bore you anymore.
    It is good to have nice neighbours and helpful friends in our colony.
    There was a Yoga class organized in SV. It ran for 6 months and died a natural death. I have been practicing Surya Namaskar for quite some time along with other asanas. Somehow laziness caught up and I gave up too…
    Regular exercise is like poison in the beginning but nectar in the end. Let us consume this poison regularly.
    I am trying to catchup again. The staff at Comd Hosp may be very co operative and friendly but keep away from a doctor. With your determination I am sure you will not need a Drโ€™s. help at all. Liked your pictures of the garden at CH..
    Best of luck.
    Suhas

    Like

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Dear Suhas both your comments have considerable value for my well being. I fortunate to be your course-mate and friend. Yoga and pranayam I will continue to practice,

      Best wishes dear friend.

      Like

  12. Dilip, This is a classic case of being ‘So close and yet so far!’. Great to learn of your recovery & your inadvertent practice of ‘an attitude of gratitude’. I figure, the Secret of your Success lies in this invaluable Asset. What’s more, it feels good to realise that one has friends, gifted with the power of narration. It’s amazing how you utilised this opportunity in such a unique manner.
    With Best Wishes,
    Sunder

    Like

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Dear Sunder you words motivate me immensely. You concern means a lot to me for a speedy recovery. I am fortunate to have a friend in you. Thanks buddy and be well.
      Fond regards.

      Like

  13. manju says:

    So sorry to read about your illness, but glad that you have recovered now.

    Slowing down seems to be a good idea! Best wishes…
    1

    Like

  14. Good to seeing you well again and it’ll pass

    Like

  15. “…to slow down and do the things which I always wanted to do but missed out. ” Felt this way after triple by-pass in ’06 but fairly content with mundane of everyday life

    Like

  16. adriana says:

    be well sweet one!

    Like

  17. Oh, dear Dilip, great advice!!!!
    Thank you!๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  18. Rakesh says:

    Dear Sir,

    It’s good to hear that you are well again. Here’s wishing you the very best of health always!
    ๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

