Hi friends remember as kids we fought for little things and said “I won’t ever talk to you again”. But then the next moment we became the best of friends again. That is how ‘Best relationships’ should be.

Yet when we grow-up misunderstandings take days or even months to be normal again. Both parties stop talking and suffer. Interpersonal conflicts do happen unexpectedly but the aim must be to restore friendly relations in the shortest possible time.

A simple and good ‘mantra’ is never to allow a complete communication breakdown to happen. Keep communicating – verbal or non-verbal with a sense of forgiveness. And become the best of friends again :)

Here’s a nice quote for you :)

About dilipnaidu

An open mind! Love to share inspirational thoughts and a keenness to learn. My interests are growing culinary herbs and playing golf. I enjoy my teaching assignments and interaction with students.

43 responses »

  1. Dear Friend (Sir)

    Greeting!!

    100% true words.. No doubt, good friends are one of the best gifts from God, and I am very happy that he has blessed me with more than close friends. Sometimes, i think of that if friends are not there in my life then how would be my life.

    You won’t believe sir that if any of my friend remember me by true heart . I will definately call them, vice-versa. Its true and i observed so many times and really happeans.

    Today, i have a friend in every corner of INDIA.

    I have no words to say GOD thank you for giving me such a wonderful friends. I feel your presence in them.

    Wonderful quote on Friendship which i believe:-

    “One loyal friend is worth ten thousand relatives.”
    - Euripides, Greek playwrite

    “My friends are my estate.”
    - Emily Dickinson

    Thanks & Cheers!!
    Vedant

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Beautiful response Vedant straight from the heart. The quotes are enriching and further stamp the essence of the theme. I am delighted and proud that I enjoy the status of friend. Yes You are a special and kindhearted human being.

      With warm regards. Be blessed.

  2. i agree- but sometimes strangely things do not work out and you have to let go of some relationships in life.

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Firstly its gracious of you to visit my space. I entirely agree with you certain (in fact most) things are beyond our control. But what is in our power is not allowing resentment to grow in our mind and eroding our happiness and well being. Just my thoughts.

      With kind regards.

  3. Nandini says:

    We all need to learn from our past, and I think this is what we can or should learn from our childhood. “As if the ego doesn’t even exist…”

    Cheers! :)

  4. Binky says:

    Sometimes kids have it more right than we do.

  5. artzent says:

    Wise words and wonderful picture!

  6. Bindu John says:

    I read this in good time – was in need of such a reminder. Hope this will help. Thank you for posting.

  7. supriyadhende says:

    Very truly said Sir. Forgiveness is the only medicine for a healthy relation..
    “When your relationship starts to break down, you need AAA: an Apology, Affection, and a promise of Action. You say you’re sorry for what you’ve said or done to hurt or disappoint your partner. You immediately offer a hug, a kiss—some meaningful gesture of warmth. You pledge to do something that matters to your partner (‘From now on, I will…’). And, of course, you stick to that. This whole AAA thing can take two minutes, but in that time you’ve healed the past, built a bridge to the present, and created hope for your future.” — Mira Kirshenbaum, psychotherapist and author of The Weekend Marriage

    Regards
    Supriya

  8. Jenn Ji Hyun says:

    So true. I’m trying my best to not let anger get the best of me. Thanks for the usual beautiful thought you’ve just shared. :D

  9. Geetha says:

    Dear Sir,

    Independence Day Greetings to you and everybody here!

    I love the way your last four blog posts have evolved…. logically and sequentially. Be child like, don’t speak harsh words, apologize without letting ego get in the way and now…never forget that ROI actually stands for ‘Relationships, Outcomes and Improvements and the Return On Investment in Relationships is any day greater. Thank you!

    Every time we utter a few harsh words that damage a precious relationship, we make a huge withdrawal from our Emotional Bank Account but the moment we put aside our ego and make a meaningful apology, we replenish the account at least to a certain extent!

    Management Guru, Dr. Stephen R. Covey said that beautifully!
    A couple of useful links here:
    http://www.stephencovey.com/blog/?tag=emotional-bank-account
    http://wellrounded.me/2011/02/02/the-emotional-bank-account/
    http://integratedleader.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/Your_Emotnal_Bank_Acct.pdf

    May Dr. Covey’s soul R.I.P.

    Thanks and regards,

    Geetha

    • Dilip says:

      I thank you and warmly reciprocate your Independence Day good wishes. Like every year we participated with pride in the Flag Hoisting function this year too!

      It is kind of you to appreciate the themes of the last few posts. The links are invaluable and so is the video! The concept of ROI and Stephen Coveys wisdom are so inspiring! Enjoyed the learning flowing out from them

      Thanks Geetha for your encouragement and support!

    • sash says:

      Oh yeah! at par on this line. Was spinning in my mind and read this as a comment.
      “I love the way your last four blog posts have evolved…”

  10. pennycoho says:

    A wonderful post here Dilip. The words, the quote, the photo, inspirational and so wise, a well put loving reminder of important things! Thank you my friend, Penny

  11. Forgiveness is so important. Thanks for the wonderful reminder.

  12. awesome Dilip sir, I have fought with all my friends os many times I still do, saying when i land in india I am not visiting them or meeting them and yet what happens when i land either they are there at airport or at my home waiting …

    friendship is beautifulllllllll :)

    • Dilip says:

      Wow Bikram you always share such beautiful experiences. I can visualize your friends turning-up to welcome you! Way to go.
      Cheers & warm regards.

  13. Beautiful and true, Dilip.! :-)

  14. seemashenoy says:

    Dear Dillip,

    I always find you concepts simple yet effective :)
    Thanks!!

    Regards
    Seema

  15. ha the first line made me smile, oh how many times i have vowed never to talk to a person( mostly my brother)..and then we patched things up again…
    but yes you are right a lot of times we argue about things that may seem very important but later we realise those were such silly things and the time we spent incommunicado were such precious moments waisted..
    lovely write up :)

  16. Numero Uno says:

    I should tell you that this post is actually making me re-think one of the harshest decisions I took recently. To stop talking to a friend….
    Nice post. :)

  17. preety92 says:

    This is so true :)

Leave a Reply

