I am delighted to share my friend Brig. Chowdhry’s wonderful experience which I feel is nothing less than a miracle and as said by Einstein ~ “There are two ways to live: you can live as if nothing is a miracle; you can live as if everything is a miracle”. On my request the Brig. asked me to go ahead and spread the happiness with all my blogger friends. In his own words -

“It was 16 Aug 12, a day before the Amavasya*, as I got out into the garden early morning, the air was charged with tremendous energy and I could feel that something very special was going to happen that day. One had potted, very reluctantly a cacti looking plant that Amole, the Gardener, brought some six months or so ago, saying that it was lying around nearby, evidently thrown and discarded by someone. He said it was quite a unique plant and bloomed just once a year and that too only at night.

I hadn’t quite taken to the plant initially but as time went by I did make a connection with this plant and it started responding beautifully. The first indicator is generally the leaves and they really started glistening. And then something quite unusual happened. It was from the edge of two leaves that a branch each emanated culminating in an elongated bud.

To cut the story short, the miracle took place within a period of an hour. You can see the buds at 8 pm and then the flowers in their full glory at 9 pm. The experience was so overpowering that it left you totally mesmerized. In short the time interval between the bud stage and the full blown bloom was just an hour. Mind you it could have happened in a matter of just a few minutes for I had come inside the house, not being able to handle the very empowering energy prevailing. It was a gardener’s thrill of a life time.

Brahmakamal in full bloom

Brahma Kamal

Only God could have created such a beauty and I am also told it is very lucky to be able to witness the bloom. For one, you have to make a special effort to watch the flower bloom since it occurs only at night and then, very sadly the whole thing is over by the morning the flowers totally fold-up recalling Edna St. Vincent Millay famous saying:-

“My candle burns at both ends, it will not last the night.
But ah my friends and oh my foes, it gives a lovely light”

Cheers and thanks :)

Excerpts from Wikipedia:
1. * Amavasya means Moonless night when there is a natural upsurge of energies in the human body on these days. As a result, in the tradition, Amavasya (New Moon) and Poornima (Full Moon) days are held as special days for the spiritual seeker.

2. Brahma Kamal is the mythical white lotus that has dominated the imagination of mythological experts from generations. The Brahma Kamal is supposed to grow in the highest parts of the Himalayas and that holds true even today. This flower indeed grows in the Himalayan forests.

The fact that the above event happened in Pune located in the plains is by itself unique :)

About dilipnaidu

An open mind! Love to share my thoughts and a keenness to learn. An engineer and a MBA I had a wonderful innings in the Army and later moved to consultancy and teaching. My current interests are reading, music, growing culinary herbs and playing golf. I am serious on "Living life less seriously". A warm welcome to you be well and be cheerful always.

67 responses »

  1. renxkyoko says:

    We have a plant like this here at home, but I’m not sure if it’s the same plant. It’s called Queen of the Nile.

  2. chitra sekhar says:

    am feeling fortunate too..because the first Brahmakamal or the Orchid Cactus bloomed in my garden tonight ! what a beauty ! am in Pune too !

  3. Kimber Demers says:

    We bought a house 5 months ago and it had this depressed-looking plant as a center piece on our pool deck that I said we should pull out and plant something better. Good thing we procrastinated on that! On May 30th it gave us a BIG surprise and bloomed this incredible flower! Then 2 weeks ago another, last night another & tonight (July 10th) we are expecting triplets!!! I live in Fort Myers, Florida and am going to buy spray acrylic to preserve them. We have 1 more bud that will go soon. The smell is INCREDIBLE and I’ve never smelt anything like it!

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Oh I am thrilled to hear about your wonderful experience. Yes indeed this flower is something special and as per folklore the Brahma Kamal is said to bring good fortune.

      Thanks for your kind visit and for taking interest and sharing your own experience.

      Kind regards and cheers :)

  4. What a lovely experience! I wonder if the aura escalates because the flower is so short-lived. btw, why do you still call it ‘mythical’ if it exists?

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Glad you liked the Brahma Kamal post. I think its called mythical because people from many long years ago believed that those who witness its bloom are blessed and good luck and happiness comes their way :) Now as this has not been proved it becomes a myth.
      Kind regards.

  5. There is another plant like this, a tree, that shoots its flowers parts about 20 feet around it once a year around dusk.

  6. Amar says:

    Yesterday, my wife saw our Brahma Kamal flower just growing and she called me up while I was in Office to convey a good news. This too was presented to us as Gift from my Wife’s Friend in Pune. We are super glad to see the flower but yet to bloom. I think its the stage your second pic you posted above. Just wanted to post some pics of mine here, but don’t know how.

    • dilipnaidu says:

      What a lovely thought Amar. You are most welcome to email the pictures with your comments if any to me at dilipnaidu@yahoo.com. I will be delighted to share your Brahma Kamal photos with my blogger friends.

      Wishing you both wonderful blooms with loads of good luck.

      Kind regards.

  7. fgassette says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. May your day be filled with joy and peace.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  8. A very beautiful and mysterious flower, and the name speaks of divine reverence, a ray of hope from God to this world. Lovely article and pictures.

    Vijay
    – HalfEatenMind

  9. Paula says:

    It feels special to experience a miracle of life and growth :)

  10. Just awesomw beauty, glad you caught it. Thanks….and yes only God could create that

  11. Wow! Truly amazing! And such a beautiful flower :-)

  12. Nandini says:

    Wah wah! Loved the post. And photos say it all. Thanks a lot for sharing. :)

  13. lessandragr says:

    Thanks for the article – how awesome!

  14. Rajesh Mehta says:

    The”Brahm Kamal”, what i feel conveys that- ” Its not the span of life which matters but of course the quality, beauty and purpose does”.Extremely delighted being a botany student, an inspiring to mankind article. Regards, Rajesh.

  15. dilipnaidu says:

    Hi Christy I am glad you liked it.
    Regards

  16. So neat! That would have been amazing to watch! What a beautiful plant.

  17. Jenn Ji Hyun says:

    Wow… that must be an overwhelming experience, to watch a flower bloom. I never though it was possible that such a flower existed! I recalled stating an analogy in my blog that my dream was unlike a flower that starts with a bud and gradually becomes a flower because its realization wasn’t gradual but in an instant. Boy, was I wrong haha! Such a flower exists! Thanks for sharing this. :)

  18. I was so touched to read this Dilip. I can not express how deeply touched, to read the Brig’s words, reminding us of the words of Einstein, that we can live as if everything is a miracle. And I had never heard that quote but it hit me right in the heart, and I thought, yes, that is the way I wish to live my life. And I do to an extent, but not all the way, and not consciously. I will intend on doing this.
    And I wondered, after I read this, what kind of daily miracle is Dilip going to show us, through the Brig this time? And I read on, and was so touched by the simplistic way that the Brig explained the flower opening up, and the feeling of being overwhelmed so much that he had to go inside for a moment. I felt as I read those words I could feel that overwhelming sensation. And I thought, surely, surely, I can live life more like this and if I do, what kind of person would I be to those around me? Like a breath of fresh air. For that is what Brig’s words were to me. Will you please tell him?
    THank you, Dilip, for sharing this.

  19. Binky says:

    That was quite interesting. What a strange plant! So nice to see such a rare event.

  20. Such a glorious bloom, so delicate and lacy. Margie

  21. Geetha says:

    Here’s some more info about the Brahmakamalam for those who are interested:

    http://whenthelotusblooms.tumblr.com/post/9122084775/the-lotus-in-when-the-lotus-blooms-is-not-your

    Regards,

    Geetha

  22. Madhu says:

    We had a plant when we lived on the plantations in Coonoor. It is indeed a wondrous experience to witness that flower bloom!

    • Dilip says:

      I can imagine what it must be. Actually I am thrilled by your visit knowing you to be a blogger par excellence. Thank you and kind regards.

  23. artzent says:

    I don’t that I have ever seen a more stunning flower and the poem is perfect. This really brightens my day and leaves me in awe of our beautiful planet!

  24. Geetha says:

    Dear Sir,

    Thank you for this post about a very rare flower. I love the quote!

    A few months ago, I read the book ‘When The Lotus Blooms’ by Kanchana Krishnan Ayyar and the leitmotif of this well-written book is the Brahmakamalam.

    Details of the book are available here:

    http://kanchibooks.com/blog/?p=1

    The author mentioned in the book that Brahmakamalam plant can never be bought by anybody or anywhere and that one has to be ‘blessed’ to receive it from somebody, somewhere.

    After reading the book, I happened to unearth a couple of blogs on this flower and here they are:

    http://mumbai-magic.blogspot.in/2008/08/brahmakamal-in-mumbai-simply-amazing.html

    http://parayilat.blogspot.in/2008/08/visit-of-queen.html

    Thanks and regards,

    Geetha

    • Dilip says:

      Awesome response and again enriching. Checked all the links and found them super especially the quote “…it was like what Omar Khayyam said in the Rubaiyat: ‘Like dew upon the desert’s dusty face lighting an hour or two is gone”.

      Thanks Geetha

  25. Sheer bliss… a true wonder!

  26. Simply we can wow!!

    i have read about this on google, here are some details:-

    Mythical References To The Brahma Kamal:

    The Lotus Of Brahma: The names of this magical flower can be translated to mean, ‘the lotus of Bramha’. Lord Brahma, the creator of the Universe, is always depicted as sitting on a huge lotus and holding one in his hand. Another name for Lord Brahma is Kanja or the one born out of the water. So, schools of thought say that Brahma was born from the navel of Lord Vishnu while others say that he was born from a huge white lotus that we call the Brahma Kamal.

    The Life Giving Lotus: The story of the birth of Ganesha is a popular one. When Shiva attached the head of an elephant on Ganesha’ s body, he was bathed with water that was sprinkled from a Brahma Kamal. That is why this lotus is given the status of a live-restoring flower of the gods. To evaluate it in terms of modern science, this flower has many medicinal properties.

    The Golden Lotus: When the Pandavas were in exile in the forests, Draupadi accompanied them. She was constantly tormented by painful memories of her insult in the Kaurava court. The hardships of a forest life also took its toll on her. One evening she saw a beautiful lotus float away in the stream. After she saw this ‘golden’ lotus bloom, she felt a strange happiness that was almost spiritual. But the lotus withered as quickly as it had bloomed. Draupadi sent her most devoted husband Bhima to look for it and on his quest for the flower he met Hanuman (Bhima’s elder brother). As a lotus is usually pink, ‘golden’ may mean a shimmering ‘white’. This story too is a reference to this mysterious flower.

    Wish Fulfilling: It is long held belief that anybody who sees this rare flower blooming will have all his or her wishes fulfilled. It is not easy to watch it bloom because it blooms in the late evening and stays only for a couple of hours. Also the fact that it is supposed to bloom once in 14 years makes it a very rare sight.

    He is the KING OF FLOWERS. And Brig. Chaudhary is very lucky to have this Flower in his Garden.

    Regards
    Vedant

  27. soumyav says:

    and also this happenend in pune! what a co incidence..

  28. soumyav says:

    thts so amazingly beautiful! do u know on my recent visit to India, there’s a same plant at my in laws place and the day we started back,the previous night I saw 3 buds blooming. It is really a rare and blessed sight!

  29. Lubna says:

    Just one word: WOW!

  30. Manish Thakur says:

    wow!! many thnx for sharing!!

  31. amira says:

    wow what a beauty the flower is. :)
    It must have been a delighful experience to witness that.

    it’s amazing how quickly that bloomed. thanks for sharing the experience
    it’s very unlikely I will ever witness that.

  32. Thank you, for sharing us this wonderful experience, dillpnaidu.

Leave a Reply

